Showing posts with label toy review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label toy review. Show all posts

Wednesday, 9 May 2018

Tech will Save Us // Electo Hero Review

Computers are playing a bigger role than ever in our lives and introducing them into play is an obvious move.  We were recently sent an Electro Hero kit from Tech Will Save Us to try out and it combines some of Archie's favourite things - playdough, electricity and Hulk Smash.

The kit is simple and self explanatory and you need access to the internet and playdough alongside everything in the box.  The kit we were sent is superhero based and came with 3 different themed activities.

Electro Hero, electric circuits for kids, superhero electrics, themummyadventure.com

To start off, you need to either purchase or make 'electrodough'.  There is a recipe on the website but I hadn't seen this before we started so I did use existing playdough we already had.  On the site you can choose which of the three missions to try and you are guided through step by step.  I let the boys try it out together for the first time and Dylan (6) could then read all the instructions.  The moulds for the playdough are colour co-ordinated for your task and the instructions were simple enough that a six year old could follow without help.  The boys built a series of bricks which they lined up on the Hulk mission card and then a big Hulk fist too.

Electro Hero, electric circuits for kids, superhero electrics, themummyadventure.com

Electro Hero, electric circuits for kids, superhero electrics, themummyadventure.com

The circuit for this task involved the sound option and when you bring the fist down on the bricks, the playdough conducts the electricity and you hear a Hulk smashing sound.  The boys thought this was absolutely brilliant and it led them to try different shapes  and ways of connecting the wires.  Once you have completed the mission, the app prompts you to try different things like seeing if you can conduct electricity through different materials.

Electro Hero, electric circuits for kids, superhero electrics, themummyadventure.com

Electro Hero, electric circuits for kids, superhero electrics, themummyadventure.com

As well as Hulk's challenge, there is a Captain America one and an Iron Man one, both of which are more complex and have different levels, encouraging children to experiment and learn about circuits.  I think this is a great set for children and I can see how even after they have completed all the challenges in the box they can start creating their own as they understand the science behind it and they have all the materials to try something new.

Electro Hero, electric circuits for kids, superhero electrics, themummyadventure.com

Electro Hero, electric circuits for kids, superhero electrics, themummyadventure.com

Archie and Dylan are 5 and 6 and I would say they are the perfect age for this game.  The box says 4+ and I think it would be ideal for 4-8 year olds.  It is priced at £24.99 which I think is reasonable  and this would make a great gift for a boy or girl.  This is just one of many kits and I definitely think we will consider one of the others for Dylan's birthday.  There are different levels for children 4+, 8+ and 12+ etc

Electro Hero, electric circuits for kids, superhero electrics, themummyadventure.com

I love how this game involves technology but in an active and interactive way and it really sparked some conversations with the boys.  They have asked to get it out several times since we initially played with it (and that was only a couple of days ago) and they both give it a big thumbs up!


Electro Hero, electric circuits for kids, superhero electrics, themummyadventure.com
PIN ME!

This post is in collaboration with Tech Will Save Us








Read more ⇨

Saturday, 14 October 2017

My Little Pony Movie Toys from Argos

My Little Pony is a toy I remember from my childhood and I am really enjoying watching my children connect with the same make believe world that I did.  We have been working with Argos ahead of the My Little Pony Movie being released on October 20th and we were sent some of the toys for the boys to play with.

My Little Pony Movie Toys from Argos

I chose two of the larger ponies as I thought they would be perfect for Finn to enjoy and the Canterlot Castle Playset looked perfect for Archie.  All three are available from Argos along with a selection of other My Little Pony products.

My Little Pony Movie Toys from Argos

We have watched some of the episodes on TV and the boys really enjoy it so I was excited to show them the toys.  Finn loves unicorns and happened to be wearing his favourite 'loonycorn' trousers when I got out the toys so he was straight away drawn to Twilight Sparkle and Spike the Dragon. 

My Little Pony Movie Toys from Argos

 Twilight Sparkle has a star on her side that makes her sing when pressed and if you hold her best friend Spike up close then they sing a duet.  Both toys came with batteries already included (a huge plus!) and Finn loves carrying them around.

My Little Pony Movie Toys from Argos

Rainbow Dash is one of my favourite ponies from when I was young and her rainbow mane is so distinctive.  Rainbow Dash has a button on her side that when pressed lifts her front leg to give you a hi5 or to connect with the other ponies.  Inside her hoof is a light and I think these ponies work really well if you buy both from the set so that they can connect with each other.

My Little Pony Movie Toys from Argos

The Canterlot castle playset comes with lots of little features as well as Princess Celestia and the Storm King.  The boys haven't yet seen the film but they got stuck in playing straight away, creating their own scenes and letting their imaginations run wild.  

My Little Pony Movie Toys from Argos

From the tiny table and toy cakes to the opening front door, there was plenty for them to interact with and I can imagine them using the castle set alongside other toys in the future.

My Little Pony Movie Toys from Argos

We can't wait for the film to come out next week and to probably expand on our pony collection with a visit to Argos.  Their My Little Pony movie range varies in price from £14.99 to £79.99 and you can get free same-day delivery for only £3.95, seven days a week or you can reserve and collect in store for free.

My Little Pony Movie Toys from Argos

This post is in collaboration with Argos


Read more ⇨

Monday, 26 October 2015

Ambi Toys at the Park



Autumn is my favourite season, full of the memories of summer and the promise of Christmas.  The colours are so rich and warm as the leaves fall and after months of flip flops I can't help but embrace my slippers once more.

We love visiting the park in the autumn as the play area is always much quieter than in the school holidays and there is so much else to do.  The boys chase the squirrels who are very keen to run up the trees and there are piles of leaves everywhere waiting to be jumped in, crunched, kicked and squelched.  

Finn is not yet mobile but he is sitting and he loves watching his big brothers play.  We took along some toys sent to us by Ambi toys and he loved having a chew and a rattle.

Read more ⇨

Friday, 11 September 2015

Playmobil Take along Zoo and Lifeboat station

As the boys get older, they are moving away from flashing lights and creepy American voices and towards toys they can narrate themselves and Playmobil has always been top of the list.  It captures their imagination and they can spend hours enthralled in play.  As part of our ongoing role as 'Playologists', we were sent two new toys, and they haven't stopped asking to play with them since they arrived.

Archie was sent the Take Along Zoo and Aquarium (£29.99) from the 1.2.3 range (suitable as a first introduction to Playmobil for children aged 1.5-5 years old).  It is perfect for storing and travel as the two halves fold together to form a case and all the parts can be safely stored inside.

Read more ⇨

Sunday, 12 October 2014

Plum Interactive Kitchen Review

I have two boys who love to cook and they were delighted with this interactive kitchen from Plum products.  It took me the best part of two hours to assemble and my hands are clearly not used to such manual labour, but it was worth it (and the instructions were not too hard).

Read more ⇨

Monday, 3 March 2014

Playmobil 123

There are some toys that our children will love for a few months and then we pass them on to family and friends, or put them in the loft ready for a future baby, but there are also those that really stand the test of time.  Playmobil is one of those things that will capture imaginations from as young as 18 months, and still be interesting many years later.  It is the kind of toy I have already earmarked for the grandchildren, as the toys are classic, timeless and hardwearing.

playmobil, playmobil for toddlers, playmobil 123, review, toy review
Read more ⇨

Sunday, 23 February 2014

Tiny Choopie Review

I have a bit of a soft spot for personalised things.  I remember the excitement when I was younger and got given stickers with my name on.  I stuck them on everything and anything, to let the world know that they were mine.  

The boys have personalised stories, clothing and all sorts, and My Kid Eco Room offered us the chance to design some gorgeous Tiny Choopie lamb stuffed toys for them too.

Read more ⇨

Saturday, 9 November 2013

Plum Toy Kitchen Review

I was starting to notice that Dylan gravitated towards toy kitchens when we are at play groups and friend's houses and with the bloke and I actively avoiding cooking unless absolutely necessary, it seemed a good idea to encourage someone in the family to feel at home in the kitchen.  

Plum sent us one of their beautiful wooden kitchens and from the moment the box arrived, Dylan was excited.  I put the kitchen together with a little 'help' from a toddler and teething baby, and it was ready to go within 45 minutes.


The kitchen is perfect sized for a small toddler and I think would be great for a 2, 3 or 4 year old.  The blue colour goes perfectly with our playroom and is refreshingly neutral compared to many of the other options on the market.  The unit comes with removable sink, two side shelves, openable oven, three hooks on one side with two kitchen utensils and a small saucepan as well.  


I love the way this kitchen has encouraged Dylan's imagination. I love the simplicity, the space and the possibilities and the classic wooden style.  Whenever we have playdates, this is without a doubt the most used toy and his friends love it, cooking wooden pizzas in the oven, and frying all manner of food (and toy cars on occassion too).


I did have a small issue with the tap and getting it properly affixed, but it isn't an issue that is affecting play. When I contacted Plum they replaced it straight away with some advice to stop the same thing happening again.  I have to admit to being a complete novice when it comes to flat pack so this may well be down to my terrible screwdriver skills but I was really happy with the customer service.


We are finding the two shelves on the side perfect for storing Dylan's collection of wooden foods and kitchen equipment and purchased a couple of tubs from the pound shop to keep it all together.  I would have loved an extra shelf in side the oven as well as it is a rather large space, but it is perfect for cooking wooden pizza in apparently!


I would recommend this kitchen for toddlers, those without the space for a huge one, and for anyone who is looking for traditional and wooden.  We have already had hours of entertainment and I know that this will be a favourite for years to come

You can find this Hendon Kitchen on the Plum website for £70 along with lots of other gorgeous choices.


Disclaimer:  We were sent this toy kitchen for the purpose of this review but 
all thoughts and opinions are completely my own.

Read more ⇨

Wednesday, 6 November 2013

Brio Farm Railway Review

As with most toddlers, Dylan has developed a bit of a thing for transport.  He loves the airplanes that fly incredibly low over our house, the buses we go on every week and his favourite has to be trains.

He loves going on the train, spotting the trains, books about trains, Thomas the Tank, and of course he loves his new Brio Train Tracks that we were sent from The Toadstool.


These are Dylan's first wooden trains, and we have had great fun playing with them and testing them over the last few weeks.  The tracks are easy to put together, and Dylan can manage it himself, although not into a circle yet. The Farm Railway set comes with everything you need for imaginative train play, and there are plenty of sets you can buy to add on and link up with it.
Read more ⇨

Wednesday, 23 October 2013

The Toadstool - Haba Toys Review

With Christmas looming, I think we are all starting to think about what to buy the little people in our lives.  As both our boys are still so young, we have decided not to go overboard this year and choose a few special things to buy.  I know they will be spoilt by family and friends but I love choosing things that I know they will love and I have been keeping an eye out for the perfect gifts.

As Toadstool Toy Testers, we were sent something to review for each of the boys and they have both enjoyed their wooden toys.  Dylan is puzzle mad and always have been, and this wooden pirate puzzle from Haba is exactly the kind of thing I will be getting him for Christmas this year.  He has progressed from the wooden board puzzles, but often the next stage puzzles are flimsy and easily broken (especially with a teething baby around).  This puzzle features 9 wooden pieces which are much more robust and can handle a little chew now and again (although we will be much more vigilant once Archie gets some teeth!)

haba puzzles, the toadstool, wooden pirate puzzle, wooden 9 piece puzzle, puzzles for two year olds

Dylan loves all things pirate so this was an immediate hit.  The puzzle says suitable for ages  2+, and at 26 months this is perfect for my little man.  He is particularly interested in puzzles though so I would say that this would be a perfect present for a 2.5/3 year old this Christmas.  The pieces are easy to slot together and once you have the puzzle mastered, you can play spot the difference between the completed puzzle and the image on the board.


 What I really love though, is that as the puzzle fits into the board it is easy to store, with no loose pieces or bulky boxes.  The puzzle is a great price at £8 which I think is very reasonable as this is a puzzle that will last through several children.  For parents like myself that want to choose a few special gifts, I would highly recommend this.

haba wooden puzzle, toddler puzzle, pirate ship puzzle for toddlers

Archie is well into teething territory yet his smile is still gummy.  Every toy is thoroughly explored with his eyes, hands and mouth and he has been testing a  toot toot clutching toy from Haba.

haba clutching toy, the toadstool, wooden baby toy, wooden car baby toy

This wooden ring features cars and signs and has a little bell that rings when it is shaken (or thrown as he has a tendency to do).  Archie seems fascinated with it and it is not exciting enough for his big brother to decide he 'needs' it as soon as it comes out to play.


It is an easy toy to pop in the changing bag and great for little gums.  I really love wooden toys and this is no exception.  I have no idea how it will hold up once teeth are added into the equation but we haven't had to worry about that yet.


If you are looking for inspiration for the little people in your life, then these wooden toys are beautiful and well made and I certainly prefer them to their plastic equivalents.


Disclaimer:  We were sent these products for the purpose of this review as part of our role as Toadstool Toy Testers
 but all thoughts, opinions and photos are completely my own.











Read more ⇨
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...