Showing posts with label review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label review. Show all posts

Tuesday, 7 March 2017

Travelling with the Pacapod

We recently went skiing and during our hunt for the perfect travelling baby bag, we discovered Pacapod.  I needed a bag big enough to cope with two under two and our hand luggage as well as being comfortable to carry with a baby in a sling.  The Hastings bag fitted every criteria, being spacious, easy to access and able to be worn as a shoulder bag or back pack as well as attached to a buggy.

Pacapod hastings changing bag, backpack changing bag

Pacapod kindly sent us one to take away with us and we have been using it a lot over the last couple of months.  Pacapod's most unique feature is the pods that each of their bags contains.  Inside the main zipped pocket, there are two waterproof zipped pods, labelled 'change pod' and 'feeder pod'.  Each one has a handle so it can be attached to a pram or carried easily if you don't want to take out your whole changing bags and they are easy to grab on the go.

pacapod, hastings rucsack, changing bag backpack

As Cora is breastfed and we tend to have a seperate snack bag for all the children together, we have ended up with a pod for each child.  When  we went away, we managed to fit in 5 disposable nappies, a pack of wipes, a few nappy sacks and a spare change of clothes in each pod, meaning I could grab Cora's pod when I needed to change her.  We have kept up this system as it means if I pop out with just Cora, I can leave Finn's pod at home for whoever has him.


The bag come with three easy ways to carry it, there is a long strap to make it a shoulder bag, which can feed through without any playing around to make it into a backpack.  There are also two pieces that mean it can hang off of any buggy making it really flexible.  This is my go-to back for babywearing as I find it easy to use with a sling on my front.


pacapod hastings rucksack

I love the style of this bag - it was perfect for our ski trip but the nautical colours will be ideal for summer holidays too, and of course it is a great changing bag to have for everyday use with all the inner pockets, easy access and a zip and clip fastening.

pacapod, changin bag backpack

The Hastings bag comes in two colours and is available on the Pacapod website for £72.

Read more ⇨

Thursday, 5 January 2017

Keeping Warm // Bundle Bean

Winter has hit but we aren't letting it get in the way of our adventures.  Over the Christmas and New Year period we have alternated between cosy indoor time with new toys and running around outdoors burning off some of the boxes of chocolates we have been consuming.  We are lucky enough to have the beach on our doorstep and it is the perfect place to let the children explore.  

flamingo footmuff, bundlebean go, carseat cover

Cora loves being outdoors, but being non mobile means she feels the cold a lot more than the rest of us.  We have been sent a Bundle Bean to help keep her warm whilst we are out and it is ideal for the changing transport modes we use.  

bundle bean go, footmuff, carseat cover



Whilst a traditional footmuff is great, the Bundle Bean has the benefits of adapting and I can use this one on a buggy, car seat or sling thanks to the adjustable velcro straps.  It isn't just a winter product either, the waterproof outer means it is an ideal picnic blanket or outdoor play mat in the summer too. 

The one in these pictures is the BundleBean Go, the most versatile of their products, but if you are looking for a specific babywearing one, then there is another option with a detachable hood specifically designed to fit all slings and carriers.  We actually have a babywearing version too and I can highly recommend it!

bundle bean, babywearing cover, footmuff for sling


Our winter adventures will continue, the bigger boys will carry on running free and my little lady will stay snug, whether she is in a buggy, car seat or sling.




Read more ⇨

Sunday, 27 November 2016

Little Tikes Playmat review

Cora has quite a few toys - the wonders of being a fourth baby, but her absolute favourite so far is her Little Tikes playmat.  She loves lying on her back batting and chewing the toys that dangle from it and staring at the toucan on the top.

Little tikes baby, little tikes playmat, activity mat

We started her on the playmat at only a few weeks old and whilst she couldn't reach the toys, she was fascinated with the bird.  There is a switch on the back that makes it move over the arch and it was brilliant watching her tracking it.  The mat seems to be growing with her as she develops and the bar moves down to make it the perfect height for tummy time too.  As she gets a bit stronger, we will sit her up so that she can play with the toys that way too.

Little tikes playmat, little tikes activity mat, tracking toy for babies, little tikes baby

The mat comes with a selection of toys including a mirror - but that is rarely hanging on the bar as her youngest big brother has taken quite a fancy to it and comes and removes it for her.  All the toys can be taken off and rearranged and you can add anything else too.

One feature that we haven't used much is the vibrating bar.  Under the mat there is a bar that can vibrate to calm the baby and it is operated by a simple switch.  Cora wasn't overly bothered or comforted by it, but I know some babies really respond well to this.


This is a really great mat and I would completely recommend it.  Cora will happily play for ages lying there and the boys love rearranging the toys for her (and pinching them).  It grows well with her and comes with a booster pillow for when baby starts off doing tummy time too. We love that Little Tikes now have a baby range as it is the same quality we know and expect from the brand. 

little tikes baby, little tikes baby activity gym,

As well as playmats, Little Tikes have a whole range of baby products from simple rattles to activity gyms for children of all ages.

Disclaimer : Collaborative post

Read more ⇨

Wednesday, 14 September 2016

Baby Bundle Baby Rocker

At eleven weeks, Cora is starting to leave the fourth trimester.  She has always been a baby that wants to be held, she loves to be close and she definitely knows who her mama is.  She has spent lots of time in the sling around the house as that is where she is most content and I have loved this transition phase and watching her become more confident being put down.

She now spends periods of her day 'playing' or at least kicking her legs around and stretching out away from me and we have been using her Bababing baby rocker from Baby Bundle lots.  


This rocker is simple and perfect for little babies.  The seat is small and cosy so they feel secure and the more muted colours provide stimulation without it being too much.  Cora is content and happy in there and she is starting to reach out for the toys now.  The rocker comes with two toys, but her youngest big brother is rather fond of pinching one as they are attached with velcro and easy to pull off.


One of my favourite features of this rocker is just how portable it is.  It folds down really easily and is easy to transport and it is incredibly light.  These photos were taken at the beach hut last weekend as it was ideal to pop in the car and to give Cora somewhere safe to play whilst we were out.  




I don't think this rocker will last past about 4 months for my long baby (she is currently 2.5 months), and the velcro shoulder straps are almost too small now, but I will continue to use it just with the waist straps which have plenty of growing room and are handily hidden until the grey fabric.  



I do think this is a great rocker, I love that there are two height positions, how portable it is and easy to store (especially with a one year old who will climb on anything he can reach) and the colours are lovely.  


Disclosure : I was sent this rocker for the purpose of this review but all thoughts and opinions are completely my own. 




Read more ⇨

Monday, 28 March 2016

On the Go with Little Dish

Now that Finn is on the move, I often have three children going in three different directions and they are always on the go.  They share a love of exploration, adventure and food and I am sure the three of them eat far more than I do!  They all have a healthy (large) appetite with a love for fruit and vegetables and a desire to graze throughout the day.

I am always on the hunt for new snack idea to add variety to their diet and with Finn's intolerances to dairy and egg it is easier to find things that all three can eat rather than providing seperate and hoping that he doesn't pinch anything that his elder brothers have.  We mix up crackers, cheese, breadsticks and fruit at home, but always choose pre packed goodies for when we are out - they are so much easier to grab and go, portioned well and they love the novelty.

We were recently sent some of Little Dish's new GoGos to try out and they seemed the perfect choice for us.  Suitable from one year upwards and with Finn-friendly ingredients too.  They are full of healthy ingredients like chia seeds, oats and flax and help release energy slowly - ideal for a day out with little people.  They come in three flavours, raspberry, vanilla and ginger and the bags are just the right size too.

little dish, gogos, toddler snacks, little dish snacks, dairy free toddler snacks

We have been testing them this past week and they are a hit with all three boys.  Finn finds them a great size to grab and easy to eat with limited teeth too.  The fact they have no refined sugar makes me happier letting him loose with them and he loves the independence of his own bag.


Archie loves the ginger flavour and enjoyed dipping them in yoghurt too.  The bag is a perfect size serving for him at just turned three and the slow release energy is perfect for a child that doesn't stop moving. 


Dylan is four now so above the target age but definitely not too big to enjoy them and they have turned out to be a perfect after school treat.  He prefers the raspberry although they love to swap some if they have different flavours.  I am still quite fussy with what I let him eat and so these are a perfect compromise.  He feels grown up with his own packet of biscuits and I know that they are providing him with protein and contain only ingredients I am happy for him to eat.


They will definitely be added to our list of going out snacks, at 60p per bag or £2.50 for a multipack of five they are inline with what I normally pay (We tend to stick to the toddler food aisle for pre packed snacks for all three).  I would love to see a savoury flavour added to the mix in the future too as we are always looking for new savoury packaged snacks.


little dish gogos, sugar free toddler snacks,



I am a member of the Mumsnet Bloggers Panel, a group of parent bloggers who have volunteered to review products, services, events and brands for Mumsnet. I have not paid for the product or to attend an event. I have editorial control and retain full editorial integrity. [I have received a voucher in return for writing this post]


Read more ⇨

Sunday, 7 February 2016

Snacktime

When we were expecting boy number three I was warned that my cupboards would empty as quickly as I could fill them and now that Finn is well into weaning I can confirm they weren't wrong.  Not only do I have three little boys, I have three very hungry little boys.  Thankfully they eat most things and all three adore fruit which makes snack time easier.  I do seem to have a full fruit bowl at the beginning of the week and an empty one by Wednesday but this was something I was semi-prepared for.

We were sent some gorgeous plates from Sammy at Blue Brontide and they are perfect for dishing out snacktime.  The plates are solid wood, lovingly carved and each a little different.  The three sections make them perfect for lunches or snacks although I couldn't bring myself to cover up the cute faces today!  Dylan had no problem when he added a pair and a banana to his plate though.



Blue Brontide sells a selection of gorgeous wooden kids plates including car and bunny shapes and everything is organic, sustainable and eco-friendly.  Their range also includes tableware, teething necklaces and dummy clips, all beautifully handmade in Yorkshire.  Buying from them means supporting local manufacturers, choosing quality and filling your house with rather cute stuff!



As these plates are made from wood, they do need to be wiped down after use rather than soaked in water or placed in a dishwasher and it is best to avoid highly acidic foods.  They are perfect for picnic lunches and snacks.

Thank you to Blue Brontide for sending us these beautiful plates, the boys adore them and their lunches are going to look a lot more exciting from now on!
Read more ⇨

Friday, 4 September 2015

BabyMoov Floor Mat

Ever since we discovered BabyMoov, they have been one of our favourite companies, and their activity nest is just perfect for a small baby.  It is soft and padded around the outside, and comes with a newborn insert to help keep their delicate head protected and in the right position.  The mat is simple but entertaining enough for Finn still at 6 months.

Babymoov floor mat, Babymoov, activity mat

We found this ideal in the early day as Finn seemed overwhelmed by the colours and noise of other playmats.  He was content on his Babymoov mat and as he got bigger, stronger and more coordinated he started batting the toys and eventually grabbing them so he could really explore them - with his mouth of course.

Read more ⇨

Monday, 22 June 2015

BabyMoov Physiological Carrier


My absolute essential item for surviving three under four is a sling or carrier.  Two toddlers are demanding enough, but when you add in a baby, you end up with more children than you have hands.  Having Finn in a sling has made getting out and about much easier, it has meant that life doesn't have to change as much for the big two, as I can still run around with them, and you can't beat having a tiny hot water bottle strapped to your front.

As part of our role as BabyMoov ambassadors, we were sent their physiological carrier, and I am really impressed.  I have used a variety of carriers before, but this offered something new, with an inbuild newborn insert, making it suitable from birth without paying for any extras, and a uv cover hidden away to keep baby protected in the summer sun.

Read more ⇨

Sunday, 14 June 2015

Learning to Play

Finn is now 3 months and he has started showing more of an interest in playing.  He still isn't particularly strong or co-ordinated, but he is starting to reach out to touch the toys on his bouncer chair and when he is lying on the floor he is drawn towards colourful shapes.  We are working with Ambi Toys this year, a company who sell traditional baby toys, perfect for little hands to explore, and hard wearing enough to pass down to your grandchildren eventually. 


We were sent a few bits that are from 3 months + so they have no small parts and are big enough for babies to grasp. All three are suitable for Finn now, but should hold his attention for months as he explores them and learns to do more himself.

Read more ⇨

Tuesday, 5 May 2015

Babymoov Swoon Up

Babymoov have an innovative new bouncer and as part of our role as ambassadors, we were sent one to try.  I was really looking forward to seeing the Swoon Up, as it sounded perfect for us.  With two levels, you can have baby low down like most baby seats, but you can also have them higher up at a more interactive level.

Babymoov swoon up, baby bouncer

Having now had the bouncer for a few weeks, it is safe to say the higher position is by far the most used.  Not only can we have Finn up at the dinner table with us, but he seems a little safer when his brothers are running around the house to be up off of the floor. 

Read more ⇨

Thursday, 23 April 2015

Frugi Breastfeeding Dress Review

Frugi have a gorgeous new range of clothing designed for breastfeeding mamas and they sent me one of their Spring dresses to try out.

Whilst Finn is the third baby I have breastfed and I have a bit more confidence feeding in public than I did the first time around, I still like to be discreet, and this dress is perfectly designed to feed comfortably and without having having much skin on show.  


Read more ⇨

Monday, 20 April 2015

Hypnobirthing - My Experience

I hadn't heard of the term Hypnobirthing until after Dylan was born, and I wasn't convinced enough to try it until after Archie.  I was lucky enough to have two relatively quick and simple labours and when I found out I was pregnant with Finn, I knew it was something I wanted to try.  I have never felt quite as powerful as those moments after giving birth, and with both births  I had been utterly amazed at what my body had accomplished.  I wanted to trust in it even more this third time, be more in touch and have a third fantastic labour.

I was offered the opportunity to try out The Calm Birth School's online program and it seemed perfect for us.  It comprised of a series of videos delivered straight to your inbox along with podcasts and a facebook group where we could chat to other mums and the two ladies behind the idea, Suzy and Holly.  Being a busy mum of two already, being able to take the course at my own pace was ideal and the facebook group means you can ask questions whenever they pop into your head, even if that is 3am.

Read more ⇨

Sunday, 22 March 2015

4 Boys and a Dyson


I now share my house with four boys and I am starting to resign myself to the fact out house will never be quiet or tidy again.   Muddy shoes are traipsed through the house, crumbs scattered on the floor and they seem to be creating 'art' everywhere they go (mostly in the style of Tracey Emin's Unmade Bed)

Whilst we settle into life as a five and having Finn at home with us, cleaning isn't top on my list of priorities, but with the mess that Dylan and Archie manage to make on a daily basis, having a hoover that can keep up with them is pretty important.  Hoovering has the added bonus of calming the baby down too (all that nesting in the third trimester has paid off!)
Read more ⇨

Thursday, 12 March 2015

One 4 All for Mother's Day

With Mother's Day falling less than three weeks after the arrival of our third baby, things are all up in the air.  As he is still in hospital being looked after in special care, we are all a bit disorganised, and I doubt the bloke will be out taking the biggest two shopping this week!

One 4 all sent me a gift card to treat myself this mother's day and it is a perfect gift.  My maternity clothes no longer fit now my bump is a baby and my pre-pregnancy clothes are not all that flattering as I lose the remainder of the tummy that carried three babies.  The gift cards can be used in so many ways, from days out, to family meals to treats for you, and mine is being spent on some nice clothes to help me transition between what fits.  Not only do I want nice and baggy in the right places, but things should be easy access as I am breastfeeding a newborn too.

I love that the card can be personalised with any image, and this one is special as it was our last family photo as a family of four!


Read more ⇨

Thursday, 19 February 2015

My Little Duckling

I have a pair of hat obsessed children at the moment, and I am rather happy that they are both wearing them voluntarily after spending their first year pulling them off their heads the moment they got close!  We were sent a gorgeous pilot hat from My Little Duckling for Archie and it has fast become his favourite.


My Little Duckling are a brand new company and their hats are currently available in sizes up to 3 years, with the biggest size being pretty generous as Archie has a big head!  I love the design and the style keeps Archie's head and ears warm.  It is super soft and thick without being bulky.  We took to the park as the weather this week has been glorious and Archie had fun exploring with his new headwear.  We love the little details, the bright red inside, the badge on the side and the little flaps.
Read more ⇨

Wednesday, 11 February 2015

The Baby Box Company Review

The Baby Box Company make lovely gift boxes for new babies and we were lucky enough to be sent one to review.  I chose the 'really useful' medium box as I loved the contents and it arrived beautifully packaged.  Unfortunately, I left the box, thinking I would photograph it in the morning when the light was better and two small boys found it first, so you don't get to see it looking lovingly wrapped but I can show you what is inside.

Read more ⇨

Saturday, 24 January 2015

The Hive Heating

Living in a rented house, we have been stuck with a boiler we have little control over.  Whilst we can turn the heating on and off, and even set it on a timer, we couldn't control the temperature, or set it to come on just when it was cold, meaning we were often sat either huddled under blankets wondering why it was so cold, or getting over hot as we hadn't remembered to turn it off.

Read more ⇨

Sunday, 7 December 2014

Warburton's Sandwiches

The highlight of Dylan's week seems to be the two days he has lunch at Preschool.  He gets so excited taking in his lunchbox, not knowing what he will find in there.  Everyday is different, although that is mostly down to what we happen to have in the cupboards - everyday it comes home completely empty though, so I know he approves.


Read more ⇨

Thursday, 13 November 2014

Lilly and Sid Children's Wear

My boys are active, they are explorers, they make mess, they play outside, they grow (at rather an astonishing rate), they eat with their fingers and they cuddle.  Their clothes need to cope with their busy lives and as they get bigger, we are definitely working out which companies withstand a toddler and which don't quite last the stretch.  With two already (and a third on the way), we have also learnt the value in investing in decent clothes that can be passed down, as ultimately it is not only cheaper than buying new each time, but much better for the environment too.

We were sent some pieces from Lilly and Sid, a boutique childrenswear company that pride themselves on gorgeous designs and exceptional customer service.  Their clothes celebrate childhood in all its colour and style and we love the unique characters.

As always, I took too many photos, but here are the boys modelling the  George Lion Pocket Set (Top and joggers - £30) and the Super Strong Monkey Man top (£20)

lilly and sid, organic childrenswear, kids fashion
Read more ⇨

Friday, 5 September 2014

Box Upon a Time

There are so many things you can get subsciption boxes for now, and I was excited to be contacted by Box upon a Time to see whether I would like to test out their children's clothing box service.


Filling in our information was easy, and I set up a personal profile for Archie, detailing the things he likes to wear, and things he doesn't.  It gave me the opportunity to not only pick out styles we liked but to also make sure if there was a colour of pattern we really didn't, that it wouldn't be included.  What would actually be inside the box though is a mystery until it arrives.  A stylist handpicks each item based on your profile and the £49 box I was offered should contain 3/4 items with a value between £80 and £120 (For my box it was £93).

Read more ⇨
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...